Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (2024)

Gala Apple Review

"The Inoffensive Mainstay"

70

Pretty Good

Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (1)

🏅 #7 RANKED CIDER APPLE

The Gala is a robust apple that can be and is grown all over the world all year-long. As a result, it has become a wholly inoffensive mainstay that can be found in any supermarket, at any time, anywhere in the developed world. In fact, in 2018 the Gala surpassed the gag-worthy Red Delicious as America’s Most Popular Apple. This does not mean the Gala is some kind of transcendent Godsend. On the contrary, it is more akin to an uncool step-parent who eventually wins you over simply by consistently showing up. Red Delicious – please leave, we have a new father now.

The Gala is known by many names depending on where it is grown: Annaglo, Galaxy, Regala, Tenroy, Mondial Gala, Royal Gala, Rainier Gala. This can lead to wildly inconsistent freshness, depending on the time of year and where you’re located. You MUST buy Gala’s that are grown where it is currently Autumn. The Royal Gala from New Zealand (Queen Elizabeth II’s favorite apple – hence “Royal”) should be freshest April – June. Meanwhile, the Rainier Gala from Washington State should be freshest September – December. Take note of this, fellow munchers, for an off-season Gala may be nothing more than a six-month old, previously frozen, grain silo in a fruit jacket.

BONUS POINTS: +2 Availability, +1 Cider Rank

Taste

Crispness

Skin

Flesh

Juiciness

Density

Beauty

Branding / Consistency

Cost/Availability

GALA BIO

PARENTAGE

Golden Delicious x

Kidd’s Orange Red

ORIGIN

New Zealand

YEAR

1934

AVAILABILITY

Year-round

BEST USES

Munching, Cider

OTHER NAMES

Annaglo, Galaxy, Regala,

Tenroy, Mondial Gala, Royal Gala,

Eat These Apples Instead
  • Pink Lady Apples
  • Envy Apples
  • SugarBee Apples

Gala is Better Than
  • Fuji Apples
  • Cameo Apples
  • Pinova Apples
_

23 thoughts on “Gala Apple Review”

  1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (5)

    Elli

    November 4, 2022 at 10:22 am

    I do not get what the hype is about these apples and why it is such a popular variety for stores to carry.

    Reply

  2. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (6)

    Taylor R

    November 15, 2022 at 11:23 am

    8.5/10 it is actually so good You guys are just too mean

    Reply

    1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (7)

      theappleist

      November 15, 2022 at 11:37 am

      Galas are a fine apple but compared to all the other apples in the world I think they are ranked properly

      Reply

      1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (8)

        Feo

        March 8, 2023 at 1:17 pm

        No way you’ve eaten every apple in the world

        Reply

    2. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (9)

      Janeth

      November 15, 2022 at 11:58 pm

      I wouldn’t say that their score is too bad, but I do agree with having them a bit higher like a 75.

      Reply

      1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (10)

        Gala

        May 21, 2023 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks Janeth

        Reply

  3. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (11)

    Rachel

    November 15, 2022 at 1:07 pm

    Phenomenal apple when stewed, no additional sugar required. Their wonderful natural sweetness seems to double when cooked.

    Reply

  4. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (12)

    Janeth

    November 15, 2022 at 11:56 pm

    Considering the availability of these apples in nearly every grocery store, I would say that the Gala apple is a hard 75! They have that initial crisp when you first bite into it while having soft and sweet innards. Their natural sweetness should rank them a bit higher than mediocre, more like above average! Also, I don’t see having 1/5 in tartness as a bad thing, it should be good that your apples are not sour! Overall, Gala apples should rise up to 75!
    ʕ ·ᴥ·ʔ人ʕ·ᴥ· ʔ

    Reply

    1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (13)

      theappleist

      November 16, 2022 at 9:07 am

      Yeah consistency and availability will be taken into further consideration when I do my annual re review of the Gala. Fair point!

      Reply

      1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (14)

        Kelly

        December 13, 2022 at 5:36 pm

        I think “mediocre” isn’t a good description of the four apples in this category. “Good” would be better description. To me, “mediocre” would be a lower ranking than “serviceable.” “Good”, on the other hand, captures the spirit of “the inoffensive mainstay” much better. Good, not very good, not excellent, not fabulous, but better than serviceable.

        Reply

        1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (15)

          theappleist

          December 13, 2022 at 5:41 pm

          These are good points. Maybe something like “Good enough”? Something to think on

          Reply

  5. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (16)

    May

    November 17, 2022 at 4:51 am

    yo this is bait

    Reply

  6. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (17)

    November 30, 2022 at 7:37 pm

    my testicl*s are currently stuck in a pencil sharpener. thats ok though because im eating a banana ( best apple)

    Reply

  7. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (18)

    JJ

    February 5, 2023 at 9:34 am

    These apples are pretty good for baking aswell !

    Reply

  8. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (19)

    ATrueAppleEnthusiast

    February 11, 2023 at 9:20 pm

    I completely agree. I just had a Gala and it was the most basic and uninteresting experience of my life. There was nothing particularly bad about, and there was nothing particularly good either. The taste was decent, but bland and uninteresting. The density was good enough, but the skin and flesh were slightly subpar. If you relate to normal SpongeBob, than this is the perfect apple for you: bland, boring, and overall very emotionless

    Reply

  9. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (20)

    Kathryn

    February 25, 2023 at 5:49 pm

    Gala are the worst apples I’ve ever tried.
    They taste like your gramma soaked in old lady perfume.

    Reply

  10. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (21)

    Lynn

    April 22, 2023 at 8:09 am

    I bought Cosmic Crisp and Envy the last 2 weeks, both good. A month ago Honeycrisp, which some went to the deer, not good. Today I see Gala from Chile, you think they’re a better choice than the first two, after they been 6 months in storage? And the Gala’s are a better deal. All from Sam’s Club.

    Reply

  11. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (22)

    Herpus McDerpington

    October 11, 2023 at 10:47 am

    I’ve had too many of these over the years and have gotten sick of the flavor. Their taste reminds of the way stink bugs smell.

    Reply

  12. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (23)

    Mike

    October 17, 2023 at 10:41 am

    Got to throw in my two cents worth as well. I like Gala apples, as well as Fujis, Honey Crisps, Pink Ladies and Snapdragons. I favor the Snapdragon over the rest but they are all good eating. It truly depends on where they come from and when you get them.

    Reply

    1. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (24)

      March 23, 2024 at 1:23 pm

      Mike so true does matter where you get them. We find with our customers that they usually favor SnapDragon over Gala too.

      Reply

  13. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (25)

    Brandi

    October 29, 2023 at 1:05 pm

    I used to buy these until they started tasting like grass.
    They are not sweet like they used to be.
    I don’t buy them anymore.

    Reply

  14. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (26)

    February 23, 2024 at 5:44 pm

    Gala apples are awesome and one of the most popular still today on our site.

    Reply

  15. Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (27)

    Kathryn

    April 10, 2024 at 6:33 am

    Because
    They are easy to produce duh.
    And can grow almost anywhere.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Gala Apple Review - Apple Rankings by The Appleist Brian Frange (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Roderick King

Last Updated:

Views: 5832

Rating: 4 / 5 (71 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Roderick King

Birthday: 1997-10-09

Address: 3782 Madge Knoll, East Dudley, MA 63913

Phone: +2521695290067

Job: Customer Sales Coordinator

Hobby: Gunsmithing, Embroidery, Parkour, Kitesurfing, Rock climbing, Sand art, Beekeeping

Introduction: My name is Roderick King, I am a cute, splendid, excited, perfect, gentle, funny, vivacious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.